What is TSL in Football? July 10, 2023 – Posted in: Featured Articles – Tags:

Since 2017, the United States has had a professional football league for development called the Spring League. The season this year begins on May 6 and ends on June 19 with the final game. It gives NFL hopefuls the chance to display their skills in front of league scouts. The Spring League’s function has grown even more important given that the CFL and XFL are still on hiatus. NFL teams have signed more than 100 players, according to the league. The players are 24 years old on average.

How many teams are participating?

Two conferences and eight clubs make up the Spring League. The Linemen, Alphas, Aviators, and Conquerors make up the North division. The Blues, Jousters, Generals, and Sea Lions compete in the South division.

Two hub cities serve as the clubs’ bases for the six-week regular season: the North Division is based in Indianapolis, Indiana, while the South Division is based in Houston, Texas.

Livestream the action on FOX

On Saturday, June 19 at 3 p.m. ET, FOX in the US will carry live coverage of the Spring League championship. Texas’ Rice Stadium will host the championship game.

Notable athletes who participated in the Spring League

Over the course of its six seasons, the Spring League has featured some well-known athletes, including former Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, former defensive end Greg Hardy of the Carolina Panthers and Dallas Cowboys, former quarterback Zach Mettenberger of the Titans, and NFL running backs Fred Jackson and Ahmad Bradshaw. In April 2018, Manziel participated in two games for Team South, with mixed results and no subsequent NFL appearances. Several of the team’s coaches have NFL backgrounds, including former San Diego Chargers head coach Mike Riley and former New York Giants offensive coordinator and two-time Super Bowl champion Kevin Gilbride.

According to CEO Brian Woods, the Spring League is anticipating a significant expansion in the upcoming weeks by adding two teams and two weeks to the format the developmental football league employed in 2020.

Its expansion occurs while the XFL and CFL continue to discuss an undisclosed partnership that could lead to a merger, creating an uncertain period for the industry. The XFL has postponed its ambitions to return to the pitch fairly soon in the meantime. The CFL wants to make a comeback this summer, but the league’s financial viability depends on how many fans are able and willing to attend its games in the midst of the ongoing COVID-19 outbreak.

TSL in Football FAQs

1) The Spring Football League has how many teams?


The new season begins on April 15, and games will be played in each of the four host cities within the first three weeks: Detroit, Memphis, Canton, Ohio, and Birmingham, Alabama. Each of the eight USFL teams will face teams from the opposing division twice during the course of the league’s 10-week regular season.

2) Where is the Spring League broadcast? 

Live coverage of the Spring League championship will be on FOX in the US. The title game will take place at Rice Stadium in Texas.

3) Which players are famous for having participated in the TSL? 

The Spring League has featured some well-known athletes over the course of its six seasons, including former Titans quarterback Zach Mettenberger, former defensive ends Greg Hardy of the Carolina Panthers and Dallas Cowboys, and former Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel.